Introduction to the Minor Prophets

The Minor Prophets include the last twelve books of the Old Testament (Hosea through Malachi). These books came to be known as Minor Prophets not because they were any less important than the Major Prophets (Isaiah through Daniel), but simply because of their shorter length.

This quarter we will study five of the Minor Prophets: **Obadiah**, **Micah**, **Nahum**, **Habakkuk**, and **Zephaniah**. All five books were named after the prophets who wrote them. The dates of those books are as follows:

Obadiah – 586 B.C. Micah – 740-687 B.C. Nahum – 660 B.C. Habakkuk – 605-600 B.C. Zephaniah – 630 B.C.

The Northern Kingdom of Israel fell to Assyria in 722 B.C. and the Southern Kingdom of Judah fell to the Babylonians in 586 B.C. (see **Map of the Middle East**). Looking at the list of dates above, you will notice that Obadiah wrote at the time of the fall of Judah, Micah wrote just before and after the fall of Israel, and the rest wrote in the years leading up to the fall of Judah.

Theme of This Quarter's Study

Theme: The title of this quarter's study is *Judgment and Renewal*. Throughout these five books you will notice the following repeated pattern: **Sin – Judgment – Repentance – Renewal**.

Here's the main truth to glean from this study: **Sin always brings God's judgment, but repentance brings renewal**. This is true in our lives, just like it was in ancient Israel. Our natural tendency is to sin, which causes God to send judgment in the form of conviction. If we repent, God sends renewal. This is true both in our salvation experience and throughout our Christian lives.